Skip to Content

7 Tips for Managing Your Snapchat Account and Followers More Effectively

Snapchat caters to a very niche audience. It doesn’t have the volume of users of bigger social media giants like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, but even though it is smaller, Snapchat has an incredibly loyal fanbase that cannot be ignored. What it does have in common with the biggest social media platforms are the complications in effectively maintaining an individual’s account and followers.

But don’t worry, we’ve rounded up some of the more common issues like changing your profile picture, pinning or unpinning someone and removing someone from a group and provided instructions for how to manage those issues.

Please note: Some of the links in my posts are affiliate links. I get commissions for purchases made through those links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases when you buy something from those links.

Knowing how to do these six things will put you in control of your Snapchat in ways you might not have thought of before.

How to Change Your Profile Picture on Snapchat?

How to Change Your Profile Picture on Snapchat

The first thing people see on your profile is your well-tailored mug shot. Your profile pic says a lot about you, and you definitely want to make sure it’s exactly what you want, which means sometimes you’ll want to change it.

Because you can’t upload a picture from your phone to be your profile, which makes this task confusing to some. To change your Snapchat profile pic:

  1. Open the app and choose the ghost symbol.
  2. Touch your own Snapcode in the profile summary.
  3. Click the trigger button that is now zoomed in.
  4. You can now capture images. You have up to five that can be an animation if you desire.
  5. If you wish, a Bitmoji or cartoon avatar can be used.
  6. You cannot upload a profile photo from your gallery with Snapcode, so make it fun with other options that speak to your personality.

Once you know how, changing your profile pic is a snap even though you can’t just upload your favorite pic from your device.

How to Update or Remove Your Cameo on Snapchat?

How to Update or Remove Your Cameo on Snapchat

Cameo is exactly what it sounds like; you get to be in your own movie, sort of. What cameo is for is to update your Snapchat profile pic with a series of clips featuring one of your selfie pics. It puts your face in up to 100 short clips similar to Photoshop.

If you want to change your cameo selfie, follow these simple steps:

  1. Launch the app.
  2. Enter a chat with one of your friends.
  3. Tap the smiley icon next to the chat box.
  4. Tap the icon that shows your cameo pattern.
  5. Long-press the cameo pattern button at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Select a new selfie option. Snapchat will know you want to take a new selfie and uses your front camera to update it.
  7. Put your head in the icon space, and when you are ready, Snapchat takes your new picture.
  8. You can do this however many times you wish. Tinker until you are happy.

How to Pin or Unpin Someone from Snapchat?

How to Pin or Unpin Someone from Snapchat

If you want easy access to a conversation on Snapchat, pinning it is the best option. And of all the features, this is by far one of the easiest to use.

Pinning a conversation is as simple as going to the chat settings and selecting “Pin conversation.” Unpinning someone works with identical steps, but this time you tap “unpin conversation.

See. Simple. But what can be kind of fun is the one-sided reality of pinning and unpinning. Only you know a conversation has been pinned or unpinned. The other person has no idea. So, consider this when deleting a conversation forever that might be important.

How to See Mutual Friends on Snapchat?

How to See Mutual Friends on Snapchat

Snapchat is all about human connections. When Facebook, and its predecessor, MySpace, hit the market, it was for a true form of networking.

But as time has gone by, and MySpace went the way of the dodo, Facebook is less about networking and more about making money and complaining.

In this, Snapchat remains mostly a place to connect with others, which is what draws most users. Beyond connecting with friends, it’s also a great place to meet new people. But for now, let’s talk about mutual friend connections.

Friends will group naturally based on searches and adds. Your profile is the portal through which you find your friends and even connect with friends via your current friend list.

If you’re looking for mutual friends, the quick add menu provides a list of users that link to people you know, giving you the option to make them friends on your personal list.

How to See if Someone Unadded You to Snapchat?

How to See if Someone Unadded You to Snapchat

If you’re looking for a friend but can’t find them in your friends list, there’s a good chance they unadded you. While you don’t receive a notification when someone unadds you on Snapchat, it’s pretty simple to know if you’ve been voted off the island.

  1. Open your Snapchat and tap search.
  2. Search for the person you believe to have removed you from their list. If you cannot see their score, you know they have ghosted you.
  3. Another way is to check your friends list and look for anyone with the word “pending” near their status. That is just a ghost waiting to exit.

How to Remove Someone from a Group

How to Remove Someone from a Group

Snapchat groups are crucial to your success if you use Snapchat for more than

just casual fun. And unlike the “Un-add” option, removing someone from a group takes a bit more of a personal touch.

While you can’t remove someone from a group, you can explain to a person why you wish them to leave the group and have a dialogue. Then they can choose to leave.

If that doesn’t work, you can create a new group and just not invite the person you wish to omit to the group.

The last option is to block the person, but keep in mind that blocking someone also removes them from your friends list.

How To Disable or Delete Your Snapchat Account?

How To Disable or Delete Your Snapchat Account

If it’s time to take a break from Snapchat, you have the option to put your account on pause with a series of steps that allow you to deactivate it. This will hold your account in limbo for 30 days. While deactivated, your friends cannot access your account or contact you in any way.

After 30 days of continued deactivation, the account is permanently deleted. If you log on at any time within the 30-day deactivation window, your account is fully restored, but if it is deleted, it is gone forever with no chance of reviving it. You have to start from scratch.

Here are the steps to deactivate your Snapchat account:

  1. Go to your account portal. Here is a link to get you there a little faster. (https://accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/delete_account)
  2. Enter your login information.
  3. Enter the security code sent to your phone. You had to enter a phone number when setting up your account.
  4. Enter your username and password again and click “continue.” If you have followed these instructions correctly, you are entering your login info on a black page that says in big bold letters “DELETE ACCOUNT.”

That’s it. It’s easy to do, but again, if at any point you change your mind, you only have 30 days to restore your account. If you really want to get rid of it forever, delete the app from your phone so you won’t be tempted to change your mind. The temptation is great, especially if you have a big following.

Final Thoughts

Final Thoughts

Snapchat is fun, social, and great for everyone. It works for personal entertainment or business, and if you wish to create a network for your own hobbies or interests, nothing is simpler.

Understanding how different functions work can help you manage your account well, so it serves any of those purposes.

We hope this information has been helpful. If you have tips for managing your Snapchat account, we would love to hear about them in the comments!

— Sean